The B-I-B-L-E…that’s the book for me?

I have really been struggling with reading my Bible lately….honestly it has always been a struggle for me to have consistency in my devotional life. I pray every day- throughout the entire day; Mike and I even pray together all the time. I read devotional books, Christian Living books, even books about the Bible, but for some reason, getting up and picking up my Sword is a hard thing for me.

I have tried to figure out why this is. It’s not that I don’t have the time. I have more free time than anyone I know. I sit on the couch most of the day watching mindless TV shows and reading novels or laying in my bed trying to relieve the aches and pains. My Bible just stares up at me from the coffee table and beckons me to read it.

Sometimes I think  there is nothing new for me to read, nothing exciting, just the same stuff I have read for years. I have been a Christian most of my life – almost 20 years, so I have heard many sermons, read the New Testament lots of times- and most of the Old too,  BUT I forget the Author breathes new life into the pages every time I dive in.

This morning I turned off the TV and picked up my Bible. I started reading the book of 1 Timothy….and I finished it….like I said, It is not a lack of time that keeps me away from the Word! One verse that stuck out to me was 1 Timothy 2:10 – “For women who claim to be devoted to God should make themselves attractive by the good things they do. (NLT)

I think every women wants to feel attractive. Women want to feel beautiful and wanted. I try to take really good care of myself. I keep my hair colored and styled, my makeup just right, I eat well and try to exercise as my body allows me to and I know that my husband loves me and thinks I’m sexy, but if I am not nice to him or I neglect the few things he expects me to do, I become less attractive- no matter how much time I spent in the morning getting ready! My moodiness and short temper can turn me from a beautiful princess to an ugly old hag in no time! I need to meditate on…whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report( Phil 4:8). When I think on lovely things all the time – Christ’s love, His grace and mercy, His comfort, I will automatically become more lovely.

So, this morning God did have something to show me in His Word- He always does. I think 2 Timothy is on the menu for breakfast tomorrow.

One thought on “The B-I-B-L-E…that’s the book for me?

  1. Hey!! You are really having fun with the blog huh? I appricate your time and open heart! I will learn a lot about you each blog I read. Hope it is not like I am spying on your deepest thoughts….thank you for the new message. I hope you are feeling GREAT today!! Love Ya, Jen

Leave a Reply

