Power, Love and a Sound Mind

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

2Timothy 1:7

I absolutely love this verse. It reminds me of my husband. When we first started dating I asked him if he liked watching scary movies. He’s a big tough guy, and I figured most guys liked scary movies. What he said next really surprised me. He said that he didn’t watch scary movies at all, and that he stayed away from things that gave him fear. Then he quoted this verse in 2 Timothy. It really made me think.

That night I went home and opened my Bible and began to read. I know that I had heard that verse before, but I had never applied it to watching scary movies – but now, after what this big tough, man of God had said, it’s like the light bulb went on! It is so true, God has not given us a spirit of fear! I never watched a scary movie again. And you know what, I don’t ever have scary dreams and I’m not afraid to be home alone, either. Cutting out things that would cause fear has done tremendous things!

The Lord wants to give us a spirit of power, love and a sound mind….now don’t ANY of those sound better than a spirit of fear?  He gives His children ALL of these gifts; we just need to ask!

Leave a Reply

