Because He Lives

On Wednesday night during choir practice, Jeff (our worship leader) asked the choir what it means to us personally that Jesus lives. Some people said that to them it meant hope, victory, confirmation, power. I sat there and all I could think was “Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.” My heart started beating really hard, and my palms were sweaty, but I didn’t get a chance to share what I was feeling. As I left practice, I tucked that into my heart and went on my way.

This morning at church, we sang the song. I am sure Jeff knew we were going to do that song, but I didn’t! I felt so blessed that God would allow us to sing the song that been nestled in my heart all week. I love the lyrics of the last verse. They aren’t on the video below, but here they are –

And then one day, I’ll cross the river,
I’ll fight life’s final war with pain;
And then, as death gives way to vict’ry,
I’ll see the lights of glory and I’ll know He lives!

Oh, how these words speak directly into my heart! As I struggle with pain every day, I look forward to “crossing the river” and stepping into an eternity with no pain or tears – no back pain, no muscle spasms, no infertility medication, no emotional roller coasters! Just sweet communion with our Savior. It’s overwhelming to think about. So, as you watch the video, please meditate on the words of this song. Let His love for you, His death and ressurection fill your heart, and you too will be able to face tomorrow – all because He lives!

Leave a Reply

