Purpose

Have you ever wondered what your purpose is in life? I know that our main purpose as Christians is to glorify God and lead others to Him, but in our every day lives, what are we supposed to be doing? I have heard it said that you need to bloom where you are planted….I have such a hard time with that. Right now I feel stale…not in my relationship with Christ – no, I feel really close to the Lord, but in my everyday life…I think, “What the heck am I supposed to be doing?”

I do my best to take care of my home and my husband, but I feel like I have lost part of myself. I think that feeling comes from being in pain. I know I go back to that in most of my posts, but for me it is a huge reality. Before I was diagnosed with the many diseases and syndromes I have, I had great BIG dreams! I wanted to play basketball in college while I was getting a degree so I could teach English Literature. I wanted to write and publish a book.  I also would have loved to be a hair dresser or work in the medical field. I even went to school for that. I couldn’t finish because I had my second back surgery that permanently disabled me….argh…I hate being so frustrated, but that is exactly how I am feeling! I feel so blessed to be married and have a wonderful husband, but I never thought my life would be spent at home everyday by myself looking for housework to keep me busy…I want to be a mom and raise children who grow up to love God and impact the world for Him; it doesn’t seem like any of those dreams will be a possibility. I wanted to change the world! I wanted to be famous!

How do I translate the dreams of my youth to my life now? I have yet to figure it out. That is the frustrating part. I wish so much that God would heal me. I have prayed and prayed and prayed…..for whatever reason, He has chosen not to. I suppose as I keep seeking the Lord He will show me what I am supposed to be doing with my days, but today, I feel frustrated and sad.

2 thoughts on “Purpose

  1. I can tell you that your life always encourages mine. You encourage me to be a better wife. Sometimes God takes us on detours or in different directions than what we thought but I can guarantee you that He has great plans for you. Your blog alone has been an encouragement to me. I love hearing your thoughts and your heart. As you continue to seek Him He will reveal to you the great plans that He has for you. I KNOW that He has a huge purpose for you life!!!

  2. Stacy, I love the way you are so transparent–you remind me of my married daughter Heather–you both have so much heart!! (She writes the blog “Remains of the day.”)

    God is not slack concerning ANY of His promises, dear sister!!

Leave a Reply

