Fact Labels and Fateful Meanings

I am currently going through a Bible study book at Calvary Chapel in Moreno Valley entitled Me, Myself and Lies, by Jennifer Rothschild.

In today’s work book lesson, I was challenged to examine the Fact Labels I wear. We all have labels that we wear that we either have  placed on ourselves or that others have placed on us.  For me, the biggest fact label that I wear is: DISABLED. This is a fact. The doctors labeled me disabled about 8 years ago; the pain I experience every day reminds me of that label. In our book, Jennifer says that sometimes we assign a fateful meaning to our fact labels. The fateful meanings I assign to this fact label of disabled are weak, incapable, defeated.  I had to ask myself if these meanings were truth, or fallacy that I had convinced myself of through the many years of speaking untruths to myself in my daily thought life.

It was hard to confront the feelings I have about myself because of my disability. There are days when I feel weak. There are other days when I feel incapable. There are many days when I feel defeated. But these feelings are not truths, they are just feelings.

I decided to find verses that combat the fateful meanings I assign to myself. verses that speak truth about my fact label.

Fate: Weak

Truth:

  • Psalm 73:26 – My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.
  • Isaiah 40:31 – But those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.

 

Fate: Incapable

Truth:

  • Philippians 4:13 – For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.
  • John 14:16 – And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever.

 

Fate: Defeated

Truth:

  • Romans 8:37 – No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.
  • 1 John 5:4 – For every child of God defeats this evil world by trusting Christ to give the victory.

Oh, how these verses speak truth to my heart! As I read them I feel the power of the Holy Spirit and the comfort of our loving Father wash over me like a steaming hot shower after a long hard day!!!  My body may not function correctly all the time, but my God is bigger than my disability! In Christ, I am not weak, I am strong! I am not incapable, I have the Holy Spirit as a helper! I am not defeated, I have overwhelming victory!

What fateful meanings have you assigned to your fact labels? I challenge you to find the verses that counteract the lies of the devil. Let them speak truth into your heart today!

2 thoughts on “Fact Labels and Fateful Meanings

  1. Stacy, what an awesome reflection on some really powerful truth! Are you learning, like me and the bunches of other women on Monday night and Tuesday morning, that those labels we’ve stuck on ourselves (or had stuck on us by others) are things that can completely hinder the full power of God in our lives? No doubt, there are handicaps and issues that are indeed true about our lives – for example, your situation. We can’t pretend it doesn’t exist! But we CAN relabel what the fate of that reality means… and I LOVE the way you did just that by taking God’s truth and applying it to what life is. AWESOME. I can only pray that everyone else doing the study will be as impacted and challenged to put it into personal application as you did. You are an amazing woman, Stace. I love you!

  2. Amen, amen, amen! Oh, it’s so ugly to see some of the things we tell ourselves and believe. (I’ve had my share of things to chuck out and replace with truth during this study too).
    I see you as a conqueror. A strong, beautiful woman who God is using and will use for great and mighty things. I love you dear one! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

