Oh Come, Let Us Sing to the LORD!

Psalm 95:1-2 – Oh come, let us sing to the LORD! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation.  Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.

Some days I just don’t feel like singing to the Lord, especially joyfully and with thanksgiving. When things feel unfair or don’t go my way, I don’t have a song in my heart – I have grumbling and complaining. I am learning though, that if I stop focussing on myself, and I just do what Psalm 95 says to do, my heart turns around.

There are days when I don’t want to do the laundry, or the dishes, or pick up the house, and I can usually go a day or two without doing those things, but after a while, the house is uncomfortable, I have to eat my cereal out of Rubbermaid storage containers and we don’t have clean clothes to wear, (so we have to wear what’s left in the closet – clothes that are too small or too big! Not fun at all!). So, I bite the bullet and do my chores, and you know what? I feel so much better! I may not like cleaning or laundry, but the house feels clean, it is comfortable and I can relax – and enjoy my Cocoa Pebbles from the big cereal bowl! 🙂

I think it’s the same when we don’t want to praise the Lord with a song. We can go a few days, but our soul feels kinda cluttered, we are wearing our “old clothes” of anger, bitterness, envy, irritability (these are just a few of my “old clothes” that don’t fit my new body in Christ!). When I decide to turn on a worship CD and sing my heart out to the Lord, even when at first I’m not “feeling it”, the Holy Spirit begins to minister to me and all of my blessings come to mind. I feel refreshed, energized, thankful, and I don’t even mind picking up my hubby’s clothes!

Just in case you need a little help, here is a video with the lyrics so you can sing along!  🙂

Tommy Walker’s “Only a God Like You”

http://www.youtube.com/v/FgVh3FQxXtw&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x234900&color2=0x4e9e00&border=1″></param><param

One thought on “Oh Come, Let Us Sing to the LORD!

Leave a Reply

