Flower Power! – How to Make Flower Hair Clips

When I started this blog, I didn’t think I would post lots of crafty things; I wanted to write about my struggles and joys in life, but being disabled, I try to find fun things to do that don’t require walking or standing. I only started crafting a couple of months ago, for the exception of sewing curtains and pillows (I’ve been doing that for years!). This is a major part of my life and I always wanted to be a teacher. I am praising the Lord that I have been able to teach you how to do some fun things! Below is my latest project.

Hair accessories are all the rage right now. I went to Kohl’s to buy a flower for my hair and I was surprised  disgusted at the price of these little clips. I knew I could make them for much cheaper so I went on a quest.

My mom, sister, and I went to Joann’s(store) for material for table runners for my mom’s upcoming birthday party. While we were there I looked for stuff to make my flower hair clips. BINGO!! Ding Ding Ding! We were winners!

I found flower petals and the clips. I think there were 14 flowers in each pack and 20 hair clips. I bought 2 packs of petals and one bag of clips. I spent about $5. I had a 40% off coupon for one item, so without it, it would have been about $7.

I went to Target today for a hot glue gun ($5), then when I got home, I went into my sewing box and grabbed some scrap fabric and my bag of buttons and set everything on the kitchen table.

The first thing I had to do was figure out what colors and shapes and buttons I wanted to put together. That took me the longest time!

The next thing I did was hot glue a small strip of fabric to the clip.

Then I glued the flower petals together and added the button to the center.

I attached the clip to the back of the flower.

Below are all of the clips I made today.

Don’t mind the bump in my hair!

2 thoughts on “Flower Power! – How to Make Flower Hair Clips

  1. These are ADORABLE! I’m impressed. Praise God for your creativity Stacy! Thanks for showing me how!

Leave a Reply

