Body, Face and Hair Product Reviews

Recently I purchased some new body, face and hair products. I LOVE every one of them! I thought I would do a review for each one for you in case you are in the market for some new fun stuff!

1. New Neutrogena Body Clear Body Wash – Pink Grapefruit

From the Neutrogena website –

“Neutrogena® Body Clear® Body Wash Pink Grapefruit is a refreshing, clean-rinsing body wash that treats and helps prevent body breakouts with an uplifting blast of pink grapefruit. This unique formula features the maximum strength dermatologist recommended acne medicine Salicylic Acid boosted by oil-blasting MicroClear technology. It’s specially developed to treat body breakouts such as those on your back, shoulders and chest without over-drying. The bubbly lathering formula contains 100% naturally derived grapefruit extract plus vitamin C and treats skin without sacrificing your shower experience.”

My review-

 For $5.84 at Target, this is a great deal for a body wash that not only helps fights acne but smells delicious!  If you love the scent of grapefruit, this is the body wash for you! It’s a fresh scent that helps wake you up in the morning. If you shower at night, and are looking for a body wash with a soothing scent, this isn’t the one for you.  This body wash has a kick! It really does help fight acne also. I have had bad acne on my shoulders, back and chest for over 15 years, and when I was in highschool, I tried using the Original Body Clear Body Wash, but I couldn’t get past the medicinal scent. This new scent is amazing! I have noticed since using it, my skin is much clearer. With summer just around the corner, I’m excited to have found this body wash!

2. Secret Clinical Strength Deodorant, light and fresh scent

 

The Secret website has a great video explaining how this deodorant works!

http://www.secret.com/ClinicalStrength.do?gclid=CLP-gprg-KECFRJWagodxU8-FA

My Review-

I purchased this deodorant at Target for about $8.00. It killed me to spend that much on deodorant when there were plenty of other brands for less, but I have hyperhydrosis (excessive sweating) and before using this product, I would have to apply my deodorant 3-4 times a day so I would not smell. I used to keep a stick in my purse so when I started to smell myself, I could run to the bathroom and reapply. Not any more! I love this deodorant so much. You are supposed to apply it before bed and that’s all, but it makes me too nervous, so I apply it in the morning and it keeps me fresh all day long! If I am going out for the evening, I might reapply just to be safe, but if you don’t have excessive sweating you wouldn’t need to do this. The scent is really nice. It is “light and fresh”, just like it says. You do need to either apply it after you have put your shirt on or wait about 5 minutes for it to soak into your skin before putting your shirt on. Otherwise, it will leave white streaks.

3. St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub, Invigorating

From the St. Ives website-

From America’s #1 Scrub brand, this award-winning Apricot Scrub deep cleans, instantly leaving skin smooth and glowing.

My Review-

I have moderate (to severe on bad days) acne, so I use acne medication on a regular basis. This can leave my skin dry and flaky. I have been looking for a good scrub to remove the dry, dead skin, but also leave my face moisturized. This Apricot Scrub is amazing! It is oil free so it doesn’t clog my pores and the ground walnut shells and corn kernel meal does a great job of exfoliating, while the apricot oil moistuizes and keeps my skin from drying out. For those of you with nut allergies, make sure you read the ingredients very carefully! My sister is allergic to tree nuts and is not able to use this scrub. The scent is nice and clean also! About $4.00 at Target.

4. Maybelline Lash Stiletto Volumptous Washable Mascara, very black

 

From Maybelline.com –

Why you’ll love it

Now long lashes don’t have to be skinny.

  • Only our dual action brush stretches as it thickens each lash for dramatic length and volume
  • Our rich cream formula adds the most seductive finish
  • Contact lens safe and Ophthalmologist tested

My Review –

 I hate mascara comercials. Only a fool would be duped into believing those are the model’s real lashes! Most of the time I can see the false lashes glued to her eyelid. With that said, this mascara does give you great length and volume. You won’t look like the models on TV, but it does a really good job. I hate when mascara clumps, so I am very picky when it comes to mascara (I have 4 or 5 tubes in my drawer right now – all of them left me with clumps!). This mascara is clump-free. I’m not sure if it is because of the shape of the brush or the consistency of the mascara itself, but this one is a keeper! I tried the regular Lash Stiletto mascara (Not the volumptous one) and I really disliked the smell of it; it smelled like old mascara. I made sure it wasn’t expired. That was just the normal scent. I am extremely sensitive to scents and this one bothered me all day. I liked the results the mascara gave me, so I decided to try another formula, and BINGO! This one is great! I use the very black one. About $6-$7 at Target.

5. Garnier Fructis 3-Minute Undo Dryness Reversal Treatment, Triple Nutrition

From the Garnier Website –

Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition 3-Minute Undo: Dryness Reversal Treatment includes the 3 nutritive fruit oils plus apricot seeds that massage and stimulate hair from the root for the ultimate nourishing experience. In just 3 minutes, it helps reverse the signs of dryness for sikly hair that’s full of life.

My Review-

I love this deep conditioner! It smells great and leaves my hair feeling healthy and shiny. I use Nioxin Cleanser and Scalp Treatment to fight my thinning hair, and although it works great to give me volume, it dries my hair out so badly. I use this 3-minute deep conditioner about 3-4 times a week. It isn’t too heavy and doesn’t weigh my hair down. For about $6.00 at Target or Walmart, the price isn’t bad for a good deep conditioner. I think it works better than most of the stuff I got talked into buying at the salon after a hair cut!

6. Tresemm’e Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Spray

From Tresemme.com-

To guard against heat styling damage and friction, spray this multi-use protective spray to keep your hair shiny and incredibly soft. It’s a fantastic tool for instantly transforming all hair textures, enhancing hairs’ flexibility to reform and hold shape.

Also, the moisture-locking vitamin complex hydrates and is heat-activated to guard against harsh styling damage.

My Review-

I have heat-styled my hair for years; the blow drying, curling, and straightening all zap my hair of moisture. I didn’t even realize until a couple of months ago that there were even products like this to protect my hair. I bought this product because of the price. It was only about $4.00 at Target and I figured if it didn’t work, then I wouldn’t be out too much money. I can tell you though, that I have noticed a big difference! I can go a little longer between trims and the ends don’t get as frizzy. I like the way the bottle sprays really evenly and the scent is light and fresh.

7. Tressem’e 24 Hour Body Foaming Mousse

From Tresseme.com-

Lightweight, maximum hold mousse that will pump up your hair’s volume to incredibly new heights. Volume Control Complex builds body that will outlast even your longest day. This product gives your hair  a light, fluffy texture and weightless volume that never feels sticky or stiff. The foaming formula works in tandem with your heat styling tools to maintain optimal body and bounce.
 
My Review-
 
I love mousse! I love making my hair as big as possible. When my old mousse ran out, I was so excited to buy a new one. Not that the old one didn’t do the trick, but I love trying new products to see if the new one is better than the old one. This product is great! It gives me great volume and it doesn’t leave my hair feeling sticky. Plus, I loved the way the bottle looked. I was contemplating buying two different ones, and I picked this one, which was about $4.00 ($1 more than my other option) just because the bottle was cool. 🙂 I am so glad I bought this one! The scent is really nice, but if you are sensitive to scents, this may not be the mousse for you. I can smell it all day long, even after I have applied my hair spray. I like the scent a lot, but make sure you like it too or you will get tired of smelling it every time you turn your head!
 
 
8. Aussie Sun-Touched Shine Hi-Hold + Hi-Shine Hair Spray

From Aussie.com-

Sun-Touched Shine Hi Hold + Hi Shine Hair Spray gives you super-duper hold, must-have shine and all-day style.

My Review –

I mainly bought this hair spray because I liked the scent. Obviously I couldn’t try it out right there in Walmart, so I bought the best smelling hairspray. Plus it was an aerosol spray. When I got home and tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised! The hold is good, and it doesn’t freeze your hair as soon as it goes on. I like that. I am still able to style it after I have sprayed it on. The mist is fine and coats evenly, and like I said before, it smells great! About $3-$4 at Walmart.

2 thoughts on “Body, Face and Hair Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

