Almost to Goal

I have struggled with my weight for over 10 years. I was never skinny, but I think I was about 13 when I realized that I was a little overweight. I have never been obese, thank goodness, but I have never been in the normal weight range either. I am only 5’2″ and at my highest I think I weighed about 170 lbs.

This was at a time when Mike and I were living with our Pastor and his wife due to Mike being out of work, and it was so much easier for us to go out and eat rather than me cook in an unfamilar kitchen. That is when my weight skyrocketed. When we moved into our own house, I started cooking really healthy meals and some of the weight came off. Then life happened, my back got really bad again and all exercise ceased. I gained almost all of the weight back.

 When I started Weight Watcher on Feb 19th, 2009 (for the….eh…5th time), I weighed 168.2. This is a picture of me when I was close to that weight. Look at my big Charlie Brown face!

It has been 17 month since I have been doing Weight Watchers. I have lost 15.4 lbs. I lose weight EXTREMELY slowly. I lose less than a pound a month. There have been so many times at my W.W. meeting when people are congratulated for losing 15 lbs. When asked how long it has taken them, most will say 2 or 3 months! I get so discouraged when I hear that. Don’t get me wrong, I am super excited for the people who have lost. I know how much of a struggle it can be.

I am only 2.8 lbs. away from my goal. This week I am going to give it all the gusto I have to lose half of what I have left. That will be 1.4 lbs. I will need to write down everything I eat, drink at least 8 glasses of water a day, and try to exercise (we will see how that goes! the last couple days have been killer with my back!) but I feel like I am focussed and excited to reach goal! I would appreciate your prayers and well wishes as I try to get these last couple of pounds off!!

I know it’s a little premature, but here is a picture of me at my current weight.

4 thoughts on “Almost to Goal

Leave a Reply

