iPods, iPhones and iPads, Oh My!

We live in a world where technology is king. We are not big tv watchers, we only have one tv in the living room, but we have 2 desktop computers, a laptop, an iPod Touch and an iPhone.  Mike keeps his schedule neatly organized in his iPhone. He has a youtube channel where he gives drum lessons (http://www.youtube.com/user/drumennut), all shot in his music room and edited with some fancy software. He is buying a Bible Software that has over 10,000 books on it, or something crazy like that. He is so excited because it will run on his iPhone and his (future) iPad. He is looking into buying a new laptop for school because our current one is too slow.

I, on the other hand, like to write appointments on a wall calendar, I have a number of envelopes, receipts and napkins with notes on them in my purse, and I don’t have a phone with a full keypad (gasp!). Mike gave me his iPod Touch when he purchased his iPhone. All I do on it is play Angry Birds, and sometimes use the Weight Watchers App when I’m not close to my computer. Mike laughs because I still have no idea how to put music on the thing. I send many more hand-written notes than I do emails, and although I spend a lot of time online, I visit the same 3 or 4 sites everyday. The thought of having a Kindle Reader or an iPad to read my books on is tempting, but I love the feel of the books in my hands! I love the smell of books. (Plus I can get most of my books used on ebay for a dollar or two!)

I am not opposed to technology, I write a blog for goodness’ sake, but I think I’m just a simple girl. I like to touch things, have them with me. I like to connect with people in a less techy way.

Maybe some day I will become like Mike and have everything all organized in a tiny handheld computer, but for now, I will keep my envelopes and napkins. 🙂

3 thoughts on “iPods, iPhones and iPads, Oh My!

  1. I’m right there with you, girlfriend!!! Something wonderful about the feel of pen and paper, the smell and sound of book pages turning! Don’t know if I’m ready to give those simple pleasures up!

  2. I totally agree. There is nothing more personal than a hand written note, a book to flip through and search and cuddle in bed with. Oh, I enjoy a few convenient organizational electronics but overall, I much prefer the real deal.

Leave a Reply

