Am I the Only One?

Am I the only one who struggles with consistency in my daily studying of God’s Word? I have been a Christian for 18 years and my constant companion has been inconsistency. I have no excuse for not reading my Bible everyday. I am not pressed for time, I am not too busy. I want to hear from God, but how can I hear from Him if I’m not reading His Word and listening for His voice? My foolishness embarrasses and frustrates me. There are times when I commit to reading my Bible everyday, spending a good amount of time praying and journaling, but most of the time it only lasts for a few days. It drives me crazy.

I am not sure how to remedy this problem, except for more prayer and diligence. I ask the Lord to help me remember to read my Bible and spend time with Him. I suppose this may be a life-long struggle that I contend with. I am praying that is not the case, that one day I will wake up and it won’t be a struggle anymore.

This morning I read out of 31 Days toward Intimacy with God by Joni Eareckson Tada. Mike bought the book for me a couple of years ago…I am currently on Day 24. This is another example of my inconsistency (not that I have only read my Bible 24 times in the last 2 years; I read from lots of books, but you see my point).

Joni challenged me with this: “Consider the impact we could have on our world if we began to pursue God with some of the intensity with which He seeks us! If we would respond in obedience the instant we discern the Spirit’s prodding. If we, like God, had a passion for holiness. If we would freely pour out our love as He does. In a day when it’s fashionable to appear cool, bored, uncaring, and detached, we can’t afford to doubt the enthusiastic, all-encompassing love of God. And get a little excited about it. His compelling love surrounds us every minute. He’s in front of us, behind us, relentlessly pouring His love into our lives.”

At the end of today’s excerpt, she says this,

“What would it mean for you to wake up in the morning and determine to pursue God with all your heart that day?

What would you do differently? How would you ‘follow hard’ after Him, even in the midst of necessary routines?

Set your heart this day to pursue Him, remembering how He is (at this very moment) pursuing you.”

How convicting and encouraging at the same time!!! I am so thankful for Christ’s long-suffering with me, for His second (and third and fourth….) chances.

Leave a Reply

