And It Begins Again…Again

I like to take a look back every once in a while and see what was going on a year in the past. This morning I read my post from the end of August last year. (Here’s the link if you are interested – https://stacylevitsky.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/and-it-begins-again/). It is amazing how different life is this year and how eerily the same it is also. This year we have our sweet Samuel. He is such a joy, and yet so much work. He is my constant companion and I can’t imagine my life without him. This year my back is holding up pretty well. Each morning I have to stretch and snap, crackle, pop before I get out of bed, but over all, the pain isn’t as debilitating as it was in the past. (Praising God everyday for that!!!) But this year is also very much like last year. Mike went back to work this week, he started back up at seminary last week and he just told me he is booked solid for two days each week teaching lessons, which is great because we need the money, but also has Mike leaving for work when it’s dark and coming home when it’s dark. I know he misses Samuel like crazy already and his schedule has not even fully engaged yet! We just started ministering at a new church and Mike will be leading worship each Wednesday night and also teaching frequently.

Not only do I like looking back at the circumstances of the past, but how I was doing at the time. I like to compare it to how I’m doing now. Have I grown at all  in the Lord? Do I still have the same struggles?  The Lord has been growing me so much lately. He has been reminding me to trust Him with our finances, my ability as a mommy, my health, Mike’s health and crazy schedule. I feel like this year I am handling everything so much better. And I know it’s only by the grace of God. In my flesh, I am impatient (COME ON bottle warmer!!! Can’t you hear Samuel screaming his head off for nums???), I am lonely (Babe, you are gone until WHEN tonight?!), and sometimes very stressed (The electric bill is HOW MUCH this month?????). But with Christ, even though I struggle with those things often, and I have to continually lay my fears and flesh down at the cross. He sustains me. He washes me clean. He loves me.

It will be interesting trying to get into a routine with Samuel by myself, since Mike has been home with me since our baby boy was born. I will need to learn to keep myself busy, but make sure I reserve enough energy to be a wife to my husband when he comes home late and I’ve been taking care of Samuel and the house all day. I will need to get used to being alone again. I know Samuel will always be there, but he isn’t the most stimulating conversation at this point! LOL!

Last year I was really struggling with this situation, but this year I feel like I am in a good place….resting at the foot of the cross.

And just for fun, here are some new pictures of Samuel!

One thought on “And It Begins Again…Again

Leave a Reply

