Birthmarks

Updated 7/29/14

I originally shared the picture and post below when Samuel was 7 months old. He just turned 3 a couple months ago. It’s amazing what time and experience teaches you. I don’t hate my stretch marks. I don’t hate that my tummy is a little saggy or that it will never look the way it did before I gave birth to my awesome little boy.  I love my body now. In the last couple years, but especially the last couple months, I have had a realization. This is the only body I get. Most of the time it hurts all over, my legs are chubby and my tummy much softer than it was when I was in my 20s. But you know what, I respect my body now. I am blown away at the strength my body possesses. Those chubby legs carried my fussy baby around the house when I had to walk circle for hours in the middle of the night. My wider hips hold my toddler when he needs to be close to me, but I also need to get other things done. My squishy tummy provides entertainment for my son when he pokes it and says, “Daddy’s tummy is hard, Mommy’s tummy is squishy”, and then he throws his head back and laughs. See, my body bears the scars and marks and size of my past experiences. Some days I look at really fit, slim people and I want to look like that, but I know it will never happen. I am disabled and this body won’t allow me to work out like a crazy person and get super toned, and I love food. 🙂 I am ok with that. For the first time in my adult life. I am ok with that. I love my body. I love the curves and the strength and even the squishy parts. Now  this doesn’t mean I don’t want to be healthy, this means that I will be as healthy as possible- for me. No more self-loathing, no more tears when I look in the mirror. I see Mike’s smokin’ hot wife and Samuel’s amazing mommy.  It’s taken a long time, but I am there and I couldn’t be happier. I wish the same for you, precious mommies!

 

Written 12/23/11:

I loath my stretch marks. I get disgusted when I look in the mirror and I see my saggy, misshapen, striped tummy. This picture made me think…then cry. It was all worth it when I think of my baby boy. I thought I would share it with you.Image

 

One thought on “Birthmarks

Leave a Reply

