Treading Water

Have you ever had one of those days where you are treading water? With a baby in your arms? Worries on your shoulders? Yesterday was one of those days for me. I had to take Samuel to the doctor because his eczema is flared up really badly. His eyes are swollen and red and he keeps scratching at them. The skin above his ears must be bothering him too because he is scratching at them too; now the crease between his ears and head is cracked and bleeding. He would not sleep for more than 30 minutes. I was able to get a shower in during his first nap and I was able to dinner started during his second nap. He is not usually a needy baby, but yesterday he cried when I put him down to play. I felt exhausted and overwhelmed.  The doctor just said it was his eczema. It will be worse when he is around cats (Saturday’s baby shower and grandma’s house on Tuesday) and when the weather changes, like if it’s cold in the morning, warm in the afternoon and then cold again at night. It’s the worst feeling to see your child hurting and not be able to do anything to help him. When he finally fell asleep last night, I jumped online to blog a little (my first moment to myself all day, yes I did shower, but that was only so the doctor didn’t think I was a total slob and I started dinner, but I would have been happy eating a granola bar so dinner was really for my wonderful husband – and he didn’t really like what I made. LOL) and as I was typing I started getting a stuffy nose. By the time Mike called letting me know he was on his way home from church, I was coughing and so stuffed up I was hard to understand. When he got home, we talked for a few minutes then he put me to bed and he washed all of Samuel’s bottles for me. (I love him more that you will ever know!)

All of this to say that yesterday was a difficult day, but you know what? I was in constant communication with the Lord. I thanked Him for Samuel, asked for His strength because I felt so weak, asked for wisdom since Samuel would not fall asleep, asked Him to make me into the mother He wanted me to be, praised Him for such a hardworking and loving husband, and prayed that sweet Samuel would sleep through the night (he’s going on 12 hours! Thank you Jesus!).

The Lord always gives us what we need when we are overwhelmed. Yesterday my mom went with my to the doctor, my sister sent me a text message, I had a nice long text conversation with my aunt, my husband washed Samuel’s bottles, my Facebook friends are praying for Samuel. I am so blessed in the midst of this storm we are in. I am so thankful for a God who cares about the little things in our lives. I know there are bigger, much more serious problems in this world, but my Savior loves me so much that my tiny problems do not go unnoticed. He loves me and strengthens me through them.

 

One thought on “Treading Water

  1. Stacy, dear girl, hang in there! You are doing a noble work for the Lord Jesus, bringing up one of His precious babies! I will pray for Samuel’s exzcema to be healed. I get relief on my small patch with olive oil, very safe for all over the body if necessary.

    Love, Dana

Leave a Reply

