Garlic Cheddar Biscuits

I found a recipe for cheddar and herb biscuits on Pinterest the other day and I knew I would have to try them! The picture looked so good. I printed out the recipe and started my revisions. I changed the name because there aren’t actually any herbs in the recipe, just in the butter topping I omitted. I make all my recipes healthier and lower in fat than the original. Here is what I came up with and MAN! Were they yummy!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced (We LOVE garlic, if you just LIKE it, then use 1 clove)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons butter, cold and cubed
  • 1 cup fat free milk
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar (I used what I had, apple cider vinegar, but I don’t think it matters)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (sharp would be best, but I used what I had, some Kraft Mexican blend)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Pour the milk into a measuring cup and add the vinegar and garlic. Let sit for 10 minutes. (If you have buttermilk, you can use that and skip the vinegar)
  3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  4. Cut in butter until coarse crumbs are formed.
  5. Fold in the cheese.
  6. Mix in the milk mixture until moist. Don’t over mix! You may have a couple dry spots, that’s ok.
  7. Drop the biscuits onto a cookie sheet sprayed with a non stick cooking spray. (I forgot to spray it and had a heck of a time trying to get the biscuits off the cookie sheet. Also, I was able to get 16 medium sized ones. If you like big ones, divide the batter into 12 even plops. 🙂
  8. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the little peaks get golden brown.
  9. Serve immediately.

These came out so moist and tender! I can’t wait to make them again. If you get 16 out of the batch then they are 2.5 Weight Watchers Points each.

Leave a Reply

