What’s For Dinner?

What’s for dinner? Is this a common question in your home? It is in mine, and it’s just my hubby and I (well, and Samuel, but he’s not the one asking!). I have such a hard time planning dinners. I’m not exactly sure why. I start out so well and then by the end of the month, I find us searching for something to make.

“Let’s make hamburgers!”

“We don’t have any buns.”

“Ok, how about quesadillas?”

“Samuel ate the last of the cheese with lunch.”

Does this sound familiar? A couple months ago, I started a dinner plan and it worked ok. This is what it looked like.

Nothing fancy, and like I said, it kind of worked, but I knew there had to be a better way.

I have been searching Pinterest to find a dinner planner that would work for our family. This is the one that I really liked the best.

http://clairsfairytale.blogspot.com/2012/01/ultimate-menu-board.html

I love that you can change out the dinners really easily, and on the back of each dinner card are the ingredients, so you can easily write them on your shopping list (or just bring the cards with you) and you never have to wonder if you have the ingredients you need. Awesome.

If you click on the link to the blog above she gives really great instructions on how to make hers.

It took me about a week to finish my dinner board because Samuel has been sick and I could only work on it when he was sleeping, but I could not be happier with the results.

Here it is!

Isn’t it SO pretty???? I had to make some adjustments to mine. We grocery shop twice a month so I like to plan dinners two weeks at a time. I also color coordinated my dinner cards.

Teal – Easy peasy dinners- I don’t need a recipe and they are pretty quick to throw together.

Yellow – Mexican

Purple – Italian

Orange – Comfort food

Cream – On your own

Brown – Out to dinner

Tan – Odd balls- Teriyaki bowls, southwest egg rolls.

Green – Jose’s (We do dinner at Jose’s Mexican Restaurant every Friday with Mike’s parents)

I have tons of this colored card stock (Thank you Britt!) and printable labels that I can run right through the printer so I can easily add dinners.

(The back ground is just wrapping paper I got on clearance last year after Christmas! I love it so much I would love to have a wall that looked like this! I am planning on making a toilet paper roll art project that kind of looks like this. Still collecting tp rolls, so it may take a while to get it up on the blog though. Stay tuned!)

 

Here are the back sides of my “Chili” and “Manicotti with salad and garlic bread” cards.

 

I also like the boxes at the bottom of the board. All of the dinner cards start in the box on the left and after you make them, you move them to the box on the right. That way you have lots of variety throughout the month. You can also see what you don’t really like, and you can switch those out with new dinner cards.  They are made out of 24 count Crayon boxes. I now have a big ziplock bag of crayons, but it’s so worth it! 🙂

I hope this inspires you to create your own dinner board and maybe bring a little organization to your dinner planning. If you have any questions, please leave a comment and I’ll answer as soon as I can!

 

One thought on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. Stacy, I am not craft, by any stretch of the imagination. But, every so often I am fiercely inspired by a crafty idea.Today is one of those days, and your menu board is one of those crafts! I am going to feed Audrey and then this momma is heading to the craft suppy store (or the 99 cent store, budget saavy :). Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

