The Power

I read through the introduction to The Power Of A Praying Wife, entitled The Power, this morning and I have a few thoughts I would like to share with you before we begin this journey of praying for our husbands.

I get the impression reading through the intro that many women pick up this book because they feel desperate; their marriages are falling apart and they are looking to change their husbands.

 

“First of all, let me make it perfectly clear that the power of a praying wife is not a means to gaining control over your husband, so don’t get your hopes up! In fact, it is quite the opposite  It’s laying down all claim to power in and of yourself, and relying on God’s power to transform you, your husband, your circumstances, and your marriage. This power is not given to wield like a weapon in order to beat back an unruly beast.” (Page 13)

“If you wake up one morning with a stranger in your bed and it’s our husband, if you experience a silent withdrawal from one another’s lives that severs all emotional connection, if you sense a relentless draining away of love and hope, if your relationship is in so bottomless a pit of hurt and anger that everyday send s you deeper into despair, if every word spoken drives a wedge further between you until it becomes an impenetrable barrier keeping you miles apart, be assure that none of the above is God’s will for your marriage.” (Page 20)

 

When I read these words, I started to feel like maybe this book was not for me. This does not describe my marriage at all. We have an awesome marriage and my goal is not to change my husband (well, maybe a little  :)), but to lift him up, encourage him to seek the Lord in everything he does, to find God’s power working in and through him to bless others and draw many people to God’s kingdom. I skimmed through the rest of the book and realized that it can not only be a tool God uses to save a failing marriage, but also to strengthen a healthy one.

I do realize though that not all marriages are currently healthy; some of you may be in despair, praying the Lord would change your husband and save your marriage. And I believe this book can be a huge factor in God working a miracle in your life.

 

There are a few other quotes from the intro that really resonated with me.

 

“If you pray for yourself and not (your husband) you will never find the blessing and fulfillment you want. What happens to him happens to you and you can’t get around it. This oneness gives us a power that the enemy doesn’t like. That’s why he devises ways to weaken it. He gives us whatever we fall for, whether it low self-esteem, pride  the need to be right, miscommunication or the bowing to our own selfish desires.” (Page 18)

 

I agree with this completely. How many times has Satan used my low self-esteem or my need to be right to drive a wedge between my husband and I? Satan is very cunning and he will use those things to create strife in our marriage, a foot hold that he can use later to drive us apart. We can not let this happen! The power of a husband and wife, united in Christ, working for God’s glory makes Satan shake in his boots! Let’s keep it that way!

Stormie does acknowledge the need for wives to be prayed for, but also says that we can’t count on our husbands to do the praying. We can hope he is praying for us, pray that he is praying for us, but we can not require it of him. She provides a wonderful avenue for us wives to receive praying.

 

“I learned that the best thing for our marriage was for me to have women prayer partners with whom I prayed every week. I now believe this is vital for any marriage. if you can find two or more strong, faith-filled women whom you can thoroughly trust, and with whom you can share the longing of your hearts, set up a weekly prayer time. It will change your life.  This doesn’t mean you have to tell your prayer partners everything about your husband or expose private details of his life. The purpose is to ask God to make your heart right  show you how to be a good wife, share the burdens of your soul, and seek God’s blessing on your husband.” (Page 21)

 

What awesome advice! I am planning to implement this in my own life, starting this week. I am excited to not only see the fruit of going through this book and praying for my husband, but to also see the fruit of having women I trust, with whom I can bear my soul, praying for me!

One thought on “The Power

Leave a Reply

