The Power Of A Praying Wife – His Mind

“I used to attribute my husband’s mind struggles to his musical genius. You know the artistic temperament – bright and brilliant on one hand, dark and moody on the other. When he would get down, the words in his mind told him he was going to fail, be worth nothing, that he was incapable of doing what he needed to do. It had no basis in reality because he had those kinds of thoughts even in the midst of his most productive and successful work. I didn’t realize for a long time that the mind battles he endured did not have to be written off as ‘just the way he is.’ Nor did he have to fight them alone. If he and I were one, than an assault on his mind was an assault on me as well. I could stand with him in the battle by declaring, ‘This is not God speaking into my husband’s life, it’s the voice of the enemy. I’m not going to stand by and watch deadly games being played with his mind and our lives.” (The Power Of A Praying Wife, Page 81)

 

This paragraph hit me like a ton of bricks! I could have been writing the beginning part about my husband. See, Stormie and I have that in common. Our husbands are successful musicians, and although my husband is a happy, joyful person, Satan uses his artistic, analytic mind to plant seeds of doubt. The second part of the above paragraph brought me a hope that I didn’t know I had. I have tried to pull my husband out of his funk myself and it just doesn’t work; he usually just retreats more, leaving me feeling helpless and him in even more despair. I can fight this battle with him! That is great news!

Second Chronicles 32:7-8 says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or dismayed before the king of Assyria and all the horde that is with him, for there are more with us than with him. With him is an arm of flesh, but with us is the LORD our God, to help us and to fight our battles.” And the people took confidence from the words of Hezekiah king of Judah.

Satan is real and really good at what he does, but we don’t need to fear, because the Lord is with us and He never leaves us to battle alone!

 

“Even the strongest man can get exhausted, overwhelmed, burdened, desperate, or caught up in things that keep him away from the presence of God. He doesn’t always see the traps of an enemy who wants him to believe that what he faces is insurmountable. His mind fills with words like ‘hopeless,’ ‘no good,’ ‘failure,’ ‘impossible,’ ‘it’s over,’ and ‘why try?’ A wife can pray that he husband will discern the lies and hear instead words like ‘hope,’ ‘prosperity,’ ‘possibility,’ ‘success,’ and ‘new beginning’ and know that they’re from God.” (The Power Of A Praying Wife, Page 82) 

 

Stormie writes that there are two powerful weapons against the attack of lies upon our husbands’ minds. They are the Word of God and praise.

Hebrews 4:12 says, ” The Word of God is living and powerful, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of the soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thought and intents of the heart.” What an awesome verse! If you don’t already have it memorized, I encourage you to meditate on it this week and memorize it!

Second Timothy 1:7 says ” God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

Stormie writes,

 

“By speaking God’s Word, you can reveal wrong thinking and it will lose its power. If your husband won’t do it for himself, you can speak the Word of God over him, either in his presence or alone in prayer, and see positive results…..Praise is also a powerful tool because God’s presence comes to dwell in our midst when we worship Him. In His presence we find healing and transformation for our lives……You don’t want futile thoughts to darken your husband’s heart. Speak praise to God for your husband’s sound mind, and he’ll be able to think more clearly about what he will and will not allow into it.” (The Power Of A Praying Wife, Page 83)

 

This chapter has been a great encouragement to me and I’m excited to start praying for my husband’s mind! I’ll leave you with these verses:

Though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but might in Gd for pulling down stronghold, casting down argument and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ. (2 Corinthians 10:3-5)

 

 

Leave a Reply

