The Power Of A Praying Wife – His Fears

“There are many things in the world to be afraid of; only a fool would say otherwise. But when fear seizes us, tormenting and ruling our lives, we have become captive to it. Men are often susceptible to that because without even realizing it, they get attacked by the “what if’s.

“What if I can’t make enough money?”

“What if something happened to my wife and children?”

“What if I get a terrible disease?”

“What if my business fails?”

“What if I can’t be a good father?”

“What if I become disabled and can’t work to support my family?”

“What if i’m over powered or threatened?”

“What if I can’t perform sexually?”

“What if no one respects me?”

“What if I’m in an accident?”

“What if I die?”

Fear can take hold of a man (Psalm 48:6) and cause his life to be wasted (Psalm 78:33). If he is “seized with great fear” (Luke 8:37), it can keep him from all God has for him.” (The Power Of A Praying Wife, Page 87)

 

When I first read through this chapter, it didn’t sound much like my husband at all; it sounded a lot like me. Besides just a few things on the list above, I’ve said or thought all of those things. I am currently working through some things right now, with the help of my husband about some of my fears. The Sandy Hook shooting in Newtown, Conneticut really affected me. I have been fighting the fear that my son or husband will be taken from me, or that I will be killed and leave them on their own. Even walking through the mall the other day, I was convinced that someone with a gun would start shooting. I even talked to my husband about what I should do if I was walking with our son and that happened. Where would be the best place to hide? Irrational? Maybe. Real gripping fear? Absolutely. It doesn’t help that the area we live in has been getting worse, more reports of shootings and murder and very scary stuff.

I have been praying that the Lord would help me trust Him more; that even if some of my fears would come true, I would know that He was working those things out for His ultimate good. Sometimes  Most of the time it’s not easy. I still get moments of paralyzing fear, times I don’t want to leave the house. I am a work in progress. The Lord is continually comforting me and assuring me that He is in control and He loves me.

But back to our husbands! Like I said, when I read the chapter, it was difficult for me to think of my husband. He isn’t usually a fearful man and he trusts the Lord more than anyone I know. I took a step back and started to pray that the Lord would help me to write this post. To be honest, ALL I could think about were my fears.

Stormie tells the story about how she and her husband went on an overseas trip and not even half way through, her husband felt like he needed to go home right away.  He was gripped with fear.

 

“What exactly are you afraid of?” I questioned him.

“I’m not sure,” he answered.

 

Now, this sounds familiar. When I really started to think of my husband and how he deal with conflict, or new things, this is usually how our conversation goes. When I’m afraid of something and my husband asks me about it, everything comes out like word vomit. I can go on and on about what I’m afraid of and why I’m afraid. My husband is not like that. Most of the time he can’t put his finger on what he’s afraid of and even if he can identify it, he can’t express it very well in words. I’m wondering if most husbands are this way.

When I can’t tell my husband is fearful or nervous, I make sure I’m praying for him. I need to be more diligent about praying for him about fear BEFORE he is fearful! I’m going to send him some text messages today with verses about fear and trusting the Lord. It may be exactly what he needs.

 

“I pray in the name of Jesus that fear will not rule over my husband. Instead, may Your Word penetrate every fiber of his being, convincing him that Your love for him is far greater than anything he faces and nothing can separate him from it.” (The Power Of A Praying Wife, Page 89)

 

Leave a Reply

