21 Day Fix(ish) Turkey Chili

I am finding that the easiest way for me to stay on plan is to plan plan plan! And then prep a ton of food for the week. If I can just heat up something out of the freezer or fridge, I can stay on plan when my day is crazy and I don’t have time to cook a full dinner. I made this chili tonight and it was yummy! So. Much. Food. Honestly, I ate about two thirds of a portion (2 full cups! Plus my yellow portion (1/3 cup) of shredded cheese. Next time will just use half of my cheese portion) and the last one third is waiting for me on the kitchen table. I’ll go back to it after I’m done here.  I’m still not used to eating so much food at one time.

I’m calling this recipe 21 Day Fix(ish) Turkey Chili because honestly, I’m not an expert at this and I’m not super duper strict when it comes to healthy foods in the containers. I don’t have any idea what chicken broth counts as and I know tomato sauce is supposed to be counted as purple (fruit), but I count it as green (veggies). I know I’m not going to binge on tomato sauce or chicken broth so I’m totally OK with it. I still drink a cup of coffee every day with my normal Coffeemate creamer. I’m a rebel, I know.

So, without further ado, Here is

21 Day Fix(ish) Turkey Chili

Ingredients:
1 pound lean turkey
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 large green bell pepper, diced
1 large red bell pepper, diced
1 large onion,diced
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 cup chicken broth
1 (14oz.) can diced tomatoes (I use petite diced)
1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce
1 cup drained and rinsed black beans
1 cup frozen corn
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you like it)
Shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
 
Directions:

In a large pot, brown and crumble turkey in olive oil. Add diced onions, garlic and bell peppers. Saute until veggies are barely softened.Stir in diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, corn, beans. Stir in the spices.Simmer, covered, for 45 minutes.You can top this with diced onion and or shredded cheese.

You could also make this in the crock pot. I’d do step one, then dump everything into the crock pot and cook it on low all day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

